Saturday, November 12, 2011

Amazon Rainforest one of New 7 Wonders of Nature

November 11, 2011

Amazon River

The Amazon Rainforest has been named as one of the New 7 Wonders of Nature of the World, said the organizer on Friday.

The other 6 are: Halong Bay, Vietnam; Iguazu Falls, Brazil, Argentina and Paraguay; Jeju Island, Korea; Komodo, Indonesia; Puerto Princesa, Philippines; and Table Mounta, South Africa.

Organizers said the results were provisional, and based on a first count of votes.

A final list of the New 7 Wonders of Nature will be released in 2012.

In Iquitos, the regional president of Loreto, Yván Enrique Vásquez Valera celebrated with local people.

Vásquez said the title meant “thousands of dollars more for the humble people, because the benefit of a tourist's trip is money that goes everywhere: to the taxi driver, the motorcycle taxi driver, the guide in the small boat in the Amazon River, to everyone," he said to local radio RPP.

"The voting calculation is now being checked, validated and independently verified, and the confirmed winners will be announced starting early 2012," organizers said.

"It is possible that there will be changes between the above provisional winners and the eventual finally confirmed winners," they added.

The top 7 were chosen from 28 finalists, that made it to the final round from an initial 477 nominees.

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

Amazon rainforest is not only Brazil. Also Amazon forest is Colombia,Peru,Venezuela, Guayanas,...Luis Caballero (Venezuela)